Head First into ‘Fearless (Taylor’s Version)’

Ava Dezinski

On April 9th Taylor Swift released the re-recorded version of her album “Fearless”. The album is called “Fearless (Taylor’s version)” and is the first album of her masters to be re-recorded. Swift’s masters are the first studio recordings of the original first six albums. The masters were sold twice. The first purchase was by Scooter Braun after he bought Big Machine Records, and the second sale was purchased by Shamrock Holdings in 2019. Swift announced the re-recordings in 2019 as she has ownership of the music and the songs themselves. 


  On February 11th Swift announced that the album was done and released “Love Story (Taylor’s Version)” that night. Swift also revealed that six songs would be added to the original 20 songs on the first version of the album. Swift refers to the new songs as “Vault Songs”. These songs were written for the album when it was first released, but never made it. Commenting on the re-recording of the album through an Instagram post, Swift stated “I’ve decided I want you to have the full story, the entire vivid picture, and let you into the entire dreamscape that is my “Fearless” album.”


 Swift wrote about her “Vault” songs in an Instagram post. The first “Vault” song was released March 25th, and called “You All Over Me(featuring Maren Morris) (Taylor’s Version) (From The Vault)”. The second vault song was released a few days before the album as a complete surprise to fans, and the song is titled “Mr. Perfectly Fine (Taylor’ Version) (From The Vault)”. 


The album is overflowing with nostalgia from the early 2000s and from Swift’s early music career. The songs have matured beautifully from their original recording, and the newest songs are also amazing. A personal favorite from the album is “Mr. Perfectly Fine”, and I was overjoyed when the song was released on April 7th. I am so excited for the rest of Swift’s re-recordings, and hope that they are as beautiful as “Fearless (Taylor’s Version)”.